"Ireland's most active genealogical society"

President of the Genealogical Society of Ireland

At a meeting of The Genealogical Society of Ireland on 9th December 2014, Stuart Rosenblatt was installed as the new president of the Society.
Stuart’s output of genealogical publications is not measured in words, pages, or books; it is more appropriately measured in kilograms. His publications on Irish-Jewish records occupy a long shelf in the Society’s archives. RTE says about him “Rosenblatt devotes “two weeks out of every one” to this unpaid, unacknowledged work. His daughter Sonia tells us how family life has suffered. As a businessman, Stuart is first to admit it’s an expensive hobby.” Hopefully this appointment goes a little way to providing some such acknowledgement.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Genealogical Society of Ireland is elected annually by the Members at the Annual General Meeting held on the second Tuesday in March each year. The below were elected at the AGM held in March 2021.

Board meetings are normally held on the first Thursday each month at the Daonchartlann. Picture opposite shows a typical meeting in progress.

Board of Directors (20212022)

John Goggins (Cathaoirleach : Chairperson);
James Walsh* (Leas-Chathaoirleach : Vice-Chairperson & Open Meetings Convener);
Michael Merrigan (General Secretary, Company Secretary, ‘Gazette’ Editor,
Lua Ó Scolaí (Finance & pro-tem ADF, Philanthropy);
Paula Jones (Director, Heraldry, Vexillology, Diaspora
Outreach and Deputy General Secretary)
Ann O’Neill (Archival Services & Education);
Eddie Gahan (Outreach);
Shane Wilson (Internet Services, Website, Zoom Co-Ordinator)
Barry O’Connor (Membership Services & Cemetery Projects);
Séamus Moriarty (Open Meetings & Lecture Programme)